Follow

UpSlide reactivation service

Context

As with any VSTO add-in, UpSlide can be deactivated even when behaving normally.

For example, this could be cause by 

  • An Office or Windows update
  • Office crashing when UpSlide is running and the user being prompted to deactivate UpSlide.

 

If that happens UpSlide can be deactivated via this procedure.

To avoid this extra work and/or potential IT involvement each time the Add-in gets disabled, we include a reactivation service with UpSlide.

Note that this service will not interfere with manual deactivation.

Reactivation Service

Called UpSlide monitoring service, it runs under local service accounts, and monitors all the registry keys that get modified when UpSlide is deactivated.

If a deactivation change is detected, the service simply reactivates UpSlide.

It is deployed along with UpSlide and will start automatically.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk